"Ahab" rovat

Mára az egyik legkedvesebb dialógom:

Scully: "I called him Ahab and he called me Starbuck. So I named my dog Queequeg. It's funny, I just realised something."

Mulder: "It's a bizarre name for a dog?"

Scully: "No. How much you're like Ahab. You're so... consumed by your personal vengeance against life whether it be its inherent cruelties or its mysteries, that everything takes on a warped significance to your megalomaniacal cosmology."

Mulder: "Scully, are you coming on to me?"

Scully: "You know, Mulder, you are Ahab."

Mulder: "You know, its interesting you should say that, because I've always wanted a peg leg. It's a boyhood thing I never grew out of. I'm not being flippant, I've given this a lot of thought. I mean, if you have a peg leg or hooks for hands then maybe its enough to simply keep on living. You know, braving facing life with your disability. But without these things you're actually meant to make something of your life, achieve something earn a raise, wear a necktie. So if anything I'm actually the antithesis of Ahab, because if I did have a peg leg I'd quite possibly be more happy and more content not to be chasing after these creatures of the unknown."